1 Florida in NCAA tennis

The No. 12 Stanford women tennis team upset top ranked and defending champion Florida 4 3 Monday to advance to the finals of the NCAA championships in Urbana, Ill.

The Cardinal will play No. 3 Texas A for the title Tuesday. The Aggies defeated No. 7 UCLA 4 3. Nicole Gibbs, Kristie Ahn and Krista Hardebeck won singles matches for Stanford. Freshman Hardebeck won the clinching match, 6 7, 7 6, 6 3 over Alexandra Cercone.

Washington Chris Williams won the Ben Hogan Award as the nation top collegiate golfer, edging fellow finalists Michael Kim of Cal and Julien Brun of TCU. The award was presented at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas. The voting is done by a selection committee made up of 23 leaders and experts in amateur, college and professional golf.

The future growth of San Jose State football could be decided Tuesday, when the California State University board of trustees is expected to vote on the proposed renovation of Spartan Stadium.

The price tag is listed at $38,577,000, per the CSU board of trustees meeting agenda. It will be paid for by private donations, about half of which has been raised. A proposal is expected to be presented for approval on Tuesday at the meeting in Long Beach.

Gabby Green of St. under 19 women basketball team that will compete at this summer FIBA World Championships.

Green, a 6 foot 1 guard, earned a spot on the 12 player team after four days of trials at the Olympic Training Center in Colorado Springs, Colo. The junior is one of just three high school players selected to the team.

Team USA is going for a fifth straight gold medal at the under 19 world championships. The tournament runs from July 18 28 in Lithuania.

Foothill High Ryan Maund shot a 4 under 68 at Diablo Grande Golf Course in Patterson to earn medalist honors at the NCGA/CIF Northern California boys golf championships.

De La Salle Justin Pagila shot a 69 to finish second, as he had five birdies and two bogeys. His performance led the Spartans to their second Northern California title in three years. De La Salle had a five player team score of 13 over 373. Archbishop Mitty San Jose was second (382), Foothill was fifth (390) and Amador Valley tied for eighth (399).


About the author


Similar Posts

Leave a reply